buhari depressed look

There are twenty names on the ministerial list released by the Senate on Tuesday October 6, 2015. Four of the twenty are past governors. Read their brief profile below:

1. Dr. Chris Nwabueze Ngige


Ngige was born on August 8, 1952. He studied Medicine in the University of Nigeria in 1979. He immediately went into the civil service, serving at the National Assembly and State House clinics at different times. He retired in 1998 as a Deputy Director in the Federal Ministry of Health.

Thereafter, he turned to politics, becoming a founding member of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP). By 1999, he was Assistant National Secretary and Zonal Secretary of PDP in the South East region of the country.

He was elected under controversial circumstances as the Governor of Anambra State in 2003. He ruled from May 29, 2003 to March 17, 2006 under the People Democratic Party (PDP). He broke ranks with his political godfather, Chris Uba, after an unsuccessful attempt on July 10, 2003, to have him removed from office through a fabricated letter of resignation which the state assembly accepted. However, in August 2005, an election Tribunal led by Justice Nabaruma nullified Ngige’s 2003 victory.

Ngige was elected Senator for Anambra Central Constituency in April 2011. His tenure as a Senator of the Federal Republic came to an end following his defeat in the 2015 election by Uche Ekwunife.

He is currently a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

2. Rotimi Amaechi


Amaechi, the fifth Governor of Rivers State, was born on May 27, 1965. He was the political godson and special assistant to Dr. Peter Odili.

Through Odili’s support and as a member of the Peoples Democratic Party, Amaechi emerged as a lawmaker in the Rivers State House of Assembly and later Speaker between 2003 and 2007. He, however, fell out with his benefactor and  later emerged the Governor of Rivers state in 2007.

Amaechi later defected from the PDP to the All Progressives Congress after falling out with the wife of former President Goodluck Jonathan, Patience, and the PDP.

He has also been engaged in a running battle with incumbent Governor Nyesom Wike, his former commissioner.

3. Babatunde Fashola


The 52-year-old University of Benin trained lawyer, who governed Lagos State between 2007 and 2015, had his secondary education at Birch Freeman and Igbobi College, Lagos.

The emergence of Fashola as the Lagos State governorship candidate of the Action Congress in 2006 sent a shock wave through the Action Congress with some leading members of the party threatening fire and brimstone. His political godfather and predecessor, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, stood his ground by supporting Fashola’s candidature despite immense intraparty pressure to drop the ‘political greenhorn’.

A crack, however, appeared in the wall of relationship between Fashola and Tinubu when both came up with different aspirants for Lagos State governorship seat in 2015.

It will be recalled that Fashola as governor spent N139m on the drilling of two boreholes at the Lagos House, Ikeja.

4. Kayode Fayemi


Born on February 9, 1965, Fayemi, is seen more as a scholar rather than the run-of-the-mill Nigerian politician. He emerged the governor of Ekiti on October 15, 2010 after three and a half years of legal battle against the then Governor, Segun Oni.

Many political analysts saw this outlook as being responsible for his electoral defeat in the hands of Governor Ayodele Fayose in the June 21, 2014 governorship election.

Working in the background for pro-democracy groups during the military years of the 1990’s, Fayemi came into national prominence when he emerged the Ekiti State governorship candidate of the Action Congress in 2007.

It is believed that like Fashola, his personal relationship with President Muhammadu Buhari earned him the ministerial slot because like Fashola, the APC leadership is believed not to be favourably disposed to having him picked by Buhari as minister.